Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Review: The Deepest Secret

From Goodreads: For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

My thoughts:  Having never read any of Carla Buckley’s previous work, I was unsure of what to expect with this large novel. It sat one my bedside table for a few weeks, taunting me, until I was able to pick it up. And once I did, I didn’t want to put it down.

The novel is told from three different view points: Eve, her husband David, and  her son Tyler who suffers from XP. xeroderma pigmentosum, which makes any form of UV rays deadly. I’m not always crazy about alternating pov’s but in this case it works really well.

 Through the intertwining voices of the three main characters one learns that the family is barely holding it together and all have their own secrets. Eve, is the vigilant mother  who feels she is the only one capable of caring her for son. David is  the father who wants the family to relocate and is largely absent from the day to day management of the family.  Melissa is the eldest daughter who feels she must be perfect and in that role, already on the verge of emotional angst. Tyler is the young teen who roams the neighborhood after the sun has gone down, photographing and observing the neighbors in their nightly routines.

The family intricacies are complex but then add in an even bigger secret and the ramifications of that choice, and the family is on the edge of cracking under the weight of those secrets and choices. This book kept me turning the pages long after I should have gone to bed and was a quick read, despite the fact that it’s a longer book. While I did truly enjoy most of the story, there were parts that were slow and a bit repetitive but not enough to have a detrimental effect on the book.

If you have been looking for an intriguing, gripping read, look no further! This book will absolutely have you questioning the choices you would make and just how far you would be willing to go to protect your family.  Definitely check Buckley’s The Deepest Secret.


Disclaimer: I was provided this book by TLC Book Tours and the publisher in exchange for a review. The thoughts and opinions in this post are my own.