Tuesday, April 09, 2013

Review: The Clover House

From Goodreads: For fans of Victoria Hislop's The Island and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key, a powerful debut novel about a woman shuttling between America and Greece to solve the mystery surrounding her family's past and claim an identity of her own.

A phone call from her cousin sends Calliope Notaris Brown from Boston to the Greek city of Patras to sort through an inheritance from her uncle. She arrives during the wild abandon of Carnival, when the world is turned upside down and things are not as they seem. Digging through the keepsakes her uncle has left, Callie stumbles upon clues to the wartime disappearance of the family's fortune and to the mystery of her estranged mother's chronic unhappiness. As she pieces together family secrets that stretch back to the Italian occupation of Greece during World War II, Callie's relationship with her fiancé, her mother, and her mother's two sisters will change irrevocably.


My thoughts: As a huge fan of Tatiana de Rosnay's novel, Sarah's Key, I was really excited to receive this book to review. While I do think this book isn't quite on level with Sarah's Key, it is a great book in its own right. 

Powers weaves together the stories of mother and daughter, to tell a dramatic tale about family, secrets, and forgiveness.  I enjoyed reading the first person narrative of Callie, the daughter and seeing how she viewed her family and their way of life in Greece and eventually uncovers the family secret. I would have liked to have known more about the history of Greece and the World War, but this is a fairly long book and I understand not everything can be included. 

It did take me about 150 pages to fully become immersed in the plot, but once I became engrossed in the novel, the story basically carried me away to be beautiful land of Greece and their Carnival festival. If you enjoy stories about family ties, complex relationships, and the end resolution, definitely give this book a read!


Disclosure: I received a copy of this book to review by TLC Tours and the publishing company but was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed are my own